Bubblebase: the first Bubble Tea store in Wales!
Originally from Taiwan, bubble teas are refreshing fruit or milk drinks that can be served hot or cold. The milk drinks are deliciously creamy whilst the fruit flavours are more like a traditional iced tea. You can see all of the flavours on our menu.
In the bottom of the drink you can choose from three different toppings: tapioca, jelly or popping bubbles. Fun fact! A lot of people think the toppings are how bubble tea gets it’s name, but that’s not the case. It comes from the layer of tiny bubbles that form on top of the drinks when they are shaken. We shake ours in a really cool machine that you can see in store.
Tapioca pearls (also known as boba) are the original bubble tea topping and probably the most popular! Tapioca are made of starch extracted from the cassava root and are then cooked with some brown sugar to give them their dark colour. They have a characteristic caramel taste and a consistency similar to gummy bears. To give it the perfect taste and texture we cook it fresh throughout the day.
All of our jellies are either made of agar or coconut pieces so they are all vegan friendly. We know that not everyone is going to want tapioca all the time, so why not mix it up with something a bit more fruity? The jellies have a bit of a bite to them so they are a great swap for tapioca.
Our current flavours are: lychee, apple, tutti fruity, strawberry and grass jelly. Grass jelly is slightly different to the others since it’s much softer and has more of a subtle, herbal taste.
Popping bubbles are juicy, fun and a really great place to start your bubble tea adventure. They are made of an agar shell filled with different flavoured fruit juice and you can pick for a wide variety of flavours to perfectly compliment your drink.
Our current flavours are: strawberry, passion fruit, mango, lychee and a special guest flavour that changes every month!
All of our Bubble Tea Toppings are Vegan Friendly and Gluten Free!
All of our fruity teas and bubble tea toppings are vegan friendly. Our milky flavours are suitable for vegetarians. We use lactose free creamer in our milk teas but, they do contain sodium caseinate meaning they are unfortunately not suitable for vegans.
Flavours and toppings are all subject to availability. Our staff will be able to help advise which products are suitable for your dietary requirements. You can also use our contact page for any queries.